Current Affairs

Indian Dynasties – The Sunga, Kanva, Sathavahana, Chedi and Sakas Dynasties

Sunga Dynasty: (185  to 73 B.C.)
Sunga  Dynasty  was  established  by  Pushymitra Sunga,  a  Brahmin  Commanderin Chief  of  last Mauryan  ruler named Brihadratha in 185 BC
The  capital  of  Sungas  was  Videsa  in  modern Madhya Pradesh.
Pushyamitra  didn‘t  adopt  any  royal  title  and ruled  with  the  name  of  Senani The  great  Buddhist  Stupa  at  Bharhut  (in  M.P.) was  built  during  the  reign  of  Sungas.
The  Greek  king  Antialcidas    sent  his ambassador  named  Herodotus  to  the  court  of Sunga s. 
Herodotus  constructed  a  pillar―Garudadhwaj    in  the  honour  of  God Vasudeva

Kanva Dynasty: (73 to 28 B.C.)
In  73  BC,  Devabhuti,  the  last  ruler  of  the Sunga  dynasty,  was  murdered  by  his  minister Vasudeva,  who  usurped  the  throne  and founded  the  Kavana  dy nasty.
The  dynasty  was  confined  to  Magdha  only The  period  of  Kanva  rule  came  to  an  end  in  28 BC  when their  kingdom  was  annexed  by Satvahanas.

Satavahana Dynasty: (60 B.C. to 225 A.D.)
The  most  important  of  the  native  successors of  the  Mauryas  in  the  Dec can  and  Central India  were  the  Satvahanas.
Their  capital  was  Pratishtana  or  Paithan  while Bhrauch  was  the  most  important  port  city.
The  early  Satvahana  kings  appeared  not  in Andhra  but  in  Maharashtra  but  most  of  their early  inscriptions  have  been  found  i n  Andhra.
Simuka  (60  BC37  BC)  was  the  founder  of the  Satvahana  dynasty.  He  was  immediate successor  of  Ashoka  in  this  region.

Chedi Dynasty :After  Mauryas,  the  Chedi  dynasty  emerged  in the  Kalinga  region,  i.e.  modern  Odisha The  capital  city  of  this  dy Sisupalgarh nasty  was The  important  ruler  of  this  dynasty  was Kharwela. Kharvela  patronized  Jainism  and  the Hatigumpha  inscription  gives  a  reference  of his  victories.

The Sakas :: The  Sakas,  also  known  as  Scythians,  replaced the  Indo Greeks  in  India.
Among  the  five  branches  of  Sakas  with  their seats  of  power  in  different  parts  of  India,  the most  important  was  the  one  which  ruled  in Western  India  till  the  4th  Century  AD.
The  five  seats  of  power  or  Satraps  were:
  • 1.  Kapisa  (Afghanistan) 
  • 2.  Taxila  (Pakistan ) 
  • 3.  Mathura  (Uttar  Pradesh) 
  • 4.  Upper  Deccan  
  • 5.  Ujjain 

The  most  famous  Saka  ruler  in  India  was Rudradaman  (130  AD150  AD). 
He  is  famous not  only  for  his  military  conquests  but  also  for his  public  works. He  repaired  the  famous  Sudarsan  lake  of  the Mauryan  period  and  gave  patronage  to Sanskrit  language The  Junagarh  inscription  in  Gujarat  is attributed  to  Rudradaman  is  first  ever inscription  written  in  Sanskrit Other important Saka rulers in India were Nahapana, Ushavadeva, Ghamatika,Chashtana etc.

About the author


Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!