Current Affairs

General Knowledge for APPSC / TSPSC / RRB / DSC 2018

1). The Indian Association and National Conference both were founded by
a) Surendranath Bannerjee
b) Ananda Mohana Bose
c) Both (a) and (b)
d) Sisir kumar Ghosh

2). Who of the following founded a National society, a national paper, a national school and a national Gymnasium and made the word “ National “ popular in the later half of 19th century?
a) Jothindranath Tagore
b) Rajanarayan Bose
c) Nabagopal mitra
d) Satyendranath Tagore

3). Balagangadhar Tilak was given the epithet of “ LOKMANYA “ during:
a) Swadeshi movement
b) Revolement
c) Home rule movement
d) His imprisonment in 1908

4). Who was instrumental in founding the National Committee in 1938 for drawing up a plan for economic development on the basis of industrialization?
a) Subhas Chandra Bose
b) Jawaharlal Nehru
c) Mahatma Gandhi
d) Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad

5). Madan lal Dhingra murdered Curzon Wyllie in London, who was a
a) Sec. of State for India
b) Advisor to the Sec of State for India
c) Law member of Viceroy’s exe council
d) Former Governor of Punjab

6). The day Mahatma Gandhi launched the Non-Cooperation movement, a great national leader died. He was_________
a) Gopala Krishna Gokhale
b) Pherozshah Mehta
c) C R Das
d) Balagangadhar Tilak

7). After the partition of Bengal, two new provinces which came into existence were?
a) East Bengal & West Bengal
b) East Bengal & Bengal
c) West Bengal & Assam
d) West Bengal & Bengal

8). Mahatma Gandhi presided over the annual session of INC for only once at:
a) Kakinada 1923
b) Belgaum 1924
c) Kanpur 1925
d) Gaulhathi 1926

9). The historic Lucknow session of INC in 1916 was presided over by_________
a) Mrs. Annie Besant
b) R N Mudhokar
c) Ambika Charan Majumdar
d) Madan Mohan Malviya

10). Subhas Chandra Bose was re-elected president of INC at the Tripuri session in 1939 by defeating:
a) Dr. Pattabhi Sitaramayya
b) Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad
c) Dr. Rajendra Prasad
d) Jawaharlal Nehru

11). The 1st satyagrahi selected by Mahatma Gandhi to launch the Individual Satyagraha in oct 1940 was:
a) C Rajagopalachari
b) Vallabhai Patel
c) J B Kriplani
d) None of the above

12). The brain behind the bomb attack an Viceroy Lord Hardinge at Chandni chowk, Delhi in Dec 1912 was:
a) Rash Bihari Bose
b) Bhai Paramanda
c) Sachindranath Sanyal
d) Shohanal Pathak

13). The earliest public association to be formed in modern India in 1837 was:
a) The Bengal British Indian Society
b) The British Indian Society
c) The Landholders Society
d) The Madras Native Association

14). The word “Congress” was borrowed form:
a) The Congress of USA
b) North American History, to cannote an assembly of people
c) The Congress of Trade Unions
d) The Congress of World Religions

15). The most important international event which influenced the course of the Indian National Movement during the early 20th century was:
a) The Russian Revolution 1917
b) The Russo-Japanese War 1905
c) The World War-I <1914-1918>
d) Boer War 1899

16). The historic importance of the second session of INC held in Calcutta 1886 was that:
a) There was merger of INC and National Conference
b) It was presided over by Dadabhai Naoroji
c) Mass participation
d) All the above

17). Through which of the following was the partition of Bengal subsequently annualled?
a) Minto-Morley Reforms 1909
b) Hunter Commission 1918
c) Delhi Darbar 1911
d) Montague-Chelmsford Reforms 1919

18). Match of the following INC presidents with their respective Firsts and select correct answers from the codes given below: INC Presidents Firsts
I. W C Bannerjee 1) 1st AngloChristian
II. Dadabhai Naoroji 2) 1st Muslim
III. Badaruddin Tyabji 3) English
IV. George Yule 4) Parsi
a) 1 4 2 3
b) 1 2 3 4
c) 2 3 1 4
d) 3 4 1 2

19). On the suggestion of Ravindranath Ta gore The date of partition of Bengal oct 16, 1905 was celebrated as:
a) Solidarity Day
b) Rakhsha Bandhan Day
c) Black Day
d) Brotherhood Day

20). Who organized the Satyagraha Sabha whose members took a pledge to disobey the Row latt Act?
a) Madan Mohan Malaviya
b) Dr. Saifuddin Kitchlew
c) Mahatma Gandhi
d) Mazhar-ul-Haq

21). Why did the crowd had gathered at Jallia nwalahBagh, Amritsar on Apr 13, 1919: 
a) To protest against the passing of the Row latt’s Act
b) To organize a satyagraha against the general rude behavior of Gen. Dyer
c) To protest against the arrest of their popular leaders, Dr.Saifuddin Kitchlew and Dr. Satyapal
d) To mourn the death of a local leader in police custody

22). Chittagong Armory raid was organized by
a) Jathin Das
b) Surya Sen
c) Ganesh Ghosh
d) Ambika Choudary

23). The objective of the new policy of “Council Entry” proposed by the Swara jists was:
a) To give a trial to the 1919 Act
b) To wreck the reform from within by ‘uniform consistent and continuous obstruction’
c) To expose No Changers
d) To provide better administration

24). The provision for separate electorate for which of the following communities “ in the communal Award<1932> made Gandhiji undertake a fast unto death:
a) Depressed classes
b) Backward classes
c) Europeans
d) Christians

25). As a result of the Poona Pact the number of seats reserved for the Depressed classes out of general electorate seats were:
a) Increased
b) Decreased
c) Retained at the same level
d) Abolished

26). Quit India Movement was carried on the overall leadership of:
a) Gandhiji
b) Jawaharlal Nehru
c) Ram Manohar Lohia
d) None of the Above

27). Which of the following was responsible for the large scale communal riots during and after August 1946 especially “ Great Calcutta Killings”?
a) Failure of the Cabinet Mission
b) Uncompromising attitude of Muslim League
c) Unilateral offer made by Viceroy to Nehru to form interim govt
d) The observance of Direct Action Day by Muslim League

28). What did the Mountbatten plan relate to?
a) Creation of federal govt
b) Guidelines for the formation of a constitution for India by the constituent assembly
c) The method by which power was to be transferred from British to Indian hands
d) A plan for controlling the constituent riots raging all over India at that time

29). The HSRA movement ended with the death of
a) Bhagat Singh
b) Ram Prasad Bismil
c) Chandrashekhar Azad
d) Jogesh Chandra Chatterjee

30). A women revolutionary, who while receiving her degree at the convocation of the university of Calcutta from the Governor of Bengal was:
a) Kalpana Datta
b) Bina Das
c) Preetilata Wadeyar
d) Lila Nag

About the author


Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!