Current Affairs

Political Parties in Indian and States


According to one estimate, there have been over 200 political parties in India since Independence. But the country has experienced single-party dominance. A large number of regional parties exist in India. The Political parties in the country may be classified into three major groups:
(A) Rightist,
(B) Leftist and
(C) Centrist and Left of Centre.
A recognised political party has been classified either as a ‘national party’ or a  ‘state party’, the norm being: If a political party is recognised in four or more States, it is deemed a ‘national party’ and one recognised in less than four States, is a ‘State Party’ in the State/s in which it is recognised as such. A party which state/s in which it is recognised as such. A party which secures atlest 4 percent of the votes polled in the State can be recognised as a state or regional part.

1. Bharatiya Janata Party
2. Communist Party of India
3. Communist Party of India (Marxist)
4. Indian Congress (Socialist – S.C. Sinha)
5. Indian National Congress
6. Janata Party (JP)
7. Samajvadi Janata Party
8. Lok Dal (B) 9. Lok Dal (Ajit)
10. Janata Dal

1. All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
2. All India Forward Bloc
3. All India Muslim League
4. All Parties’ Hill Leaders’ Conference
5. Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
6. Goa Congress
7. Hill State Peoples’ Democratic Party
8. Indian Congress (J)
9. Jammu & Kashmir National Conference
10. Jammu & Kashmir People’s Conference
11. Jammu and Kashmir Panthers’ Party
12. Kerala Congress
13. Kerala Congress (J)
14. Kuki National Assembly
15. Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party
16. Manipur People’s Party
17. Muslim League
18. Naga National Democratic Party
19. Pattali Makkal Katchi
20. Peasants’  and  Workers’  Party of India
21. People’s Conference
22. People’s Party of  Arunachal
23. Plains Tribal Council of Assam
24. Public Demands Implementation Convention
25. Revolutionary Socialist Party
26. Shiromani Akali Dal
27. Sikkim Prajatantra Congress
28. Sikkim Congress (R)
29. Sikkim Sangram Parishad
30. Tripura Upajati Juba Samiti
31. Telugu Desam
32. Bhaushab Bandodkar Gomantak
33. Asom Gana Parishad, Assam
34. United Minorities Front, Assam
35. United Democratic Party, Manipur
36. Hill People Union
37. Mizo National Front
38. Shiv Sena
39. Shiv Sena (B)
40. Forward Bloc
41. Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
42. National Conference
43. Rising Sun Party
44. Indian Congress (J)
45. Nagaland People’s Council
46. Nagaland People’s Party
47. Marrumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
48. Tamil Maanila Congress (Moopanar)

About the author


Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!