Current Affairs

River / Drainage System of India – General Awareness for SSC, Railways

Dear Readers ………  If  you  are  preparing  for  SSC  CGL  or  Railways  RRB  or  any  other  competitive  exam,  you need  to  prepare  for  General  Awareness/  General  Studies/  General  Knowledge  & Current  Affairs.  These  will  fetch  you  quick  and  easy  marks.  These  series  of  General Awareness  Notes  in  PDF  for  SSC,  Railways  will  help  you  prepare  fast and  better  than your  competition

Today’s  focus  will  be  on  Geography,  specifically  on  the  River  and  Drainage  System  of India.  


The  flow of  water  through  channels  is  called  drainage.  The  network  of  such  channels is  known  as  drainage  system.  On  the  basis  of  origin,  Indian  drainage  system  is  divided into  –  Himalayan  rivers  and  Peninsular  rivers.

  The major  Himalayan  rivers  are  the  Ganga,  the  Indus  and  the  Brahmaputra.
  These  rivers  are  very  long  compared  to  the  rivers  of  South  India.  
  They are  called  perennial  rivers  as  they  are  fed  by  both  rainfall  and  the  melting of  snow.

  It  is  also  known  as  Sindhu  river.
  Total  length  is  2880  km.
  Source  –  Kailash  Range,  Tibet  near  Mansarovar  Lake.
  Destination  –  Arabian  Sea.
  Panchnad  –  Jhelum  (Vitasta),  Chenab  (Chandrabhaga),  Ravi  (Iravati),  Beas (Bipasha)  and  Sutlej  (Satadru).
Jhelum __ Verinag  __ Uri
Chenub  __  Bara  Lacha Pass __ Dul  H asti
Ravi ___ Rohtang  Pass
Bean ___  Rohtang  Pas
Sultuj ___  Near Mansarovar ___ Govind  Sagar/  Bhakra Nangal Dam

  Source  –  Gangotri  glacier  near  Gomukh,  Uttrakhand  in  the  Kumaon  Himalaya.
  It  is  named  as  Bhagirathi  here.  At  Devprayag,  Alakananda  joins  Bhagirathi  and becomes  Ganga.
  In Allahabad  it  is  joined  by  Yamuna,  the  largest  tributary  of  Ganga,  rising  from Yamunotri  glacier.
  Left  bank  tributaries  –  Ramganga,  Gandak,  Kosi,  Gharghara,  Gomati.
  Right  bank  tributaries  –  Son.
  Kosi,  a  tributary,  is  flood  prone.  So  it  is  known  as  “Sorrow  of  Bihar”.
  Ganga flows  through  Uttrakhand,  UP,  MP,  Chattisgarh,  Bihar,  Jharkhand, Rajasthan  and  WB.
  It  bifurcates  into  Bhagirathi  and  Hooghly  in  WB  and  Padma-Meghna  in Bangladesh.
  Ganga-Brahmaputra  delta  is  the  largest  delta  in  the  world.
  Total  length  of  Ganga  –  2530  km.
  Ganga Basin  area  is  9,51,600  sq.  km.  
  The plain  area  from  Haridwar  to  Ganga’s  mouth  is  fertile  with  alluvial  soil.

  Source  –  Chemayung-Dung  glacier  near  Mansarovar  in  Tibet.  
  In Tibet  it  is  known  as  Tsangpo.
  It  turns  SW  near  Namcha  Barwa  in  Arunachal  Pradesh  and  enters  India  as Dihang
  Near Sadiya,  Dihang  enters  into  India  where  Dibang  and  Lohit  join  it  to  make Brahmaputra.
  Finally  it  enters  into  Bangladesh  as  Jamuna  and  meets Padma  to  drain  into Bay  of  Bengal.
  Right  bank  tributaries  –  Subansiri,  Kameng,  Manas.
  Left  bank  tributaries  –  Buri  Dihang,  Kameng.
  Majuli  is  a  large  riverine  island  of  Brahmaputra.
  Total  length  of  Brahmaputra  is  2900  km.

  Peninsular  rivers  are  both  west and  east flowing.
  Narmada  and  Tapi  drain  into  Arabian  Sea  where  Mahanadi,  Godavari,  Cauvery and  Krishna  drain  into  Bay  of  Bengal.
  East flowing  rivers  form  delta  where  west  flowing  rivers  don’t  form  delta.
  Narmada  and  Tapi  are  rift  valleys.

About the author


Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!